Finalists announced in the prestigious Queensland College of Teachers Excellence in Teaching Awards

With 230 nominations received across five categories of awards in 2018, our Academy community is thrilled to receive advice from the Queensland College of Teachers that two of our Health Sciences Academy staff are finalists.

  • Mr Dean Ryschka – finalist in The Dr Roger Hunter OAM Excellence in Beginning to Teach Award, an award that provides recognition for inspirational Queensland teachers in their beginning four years of teaching.
  • Mrs Jane Sleeman – finalist in The Professor Betty Watts OBE Memorial Award for an Outstanding Contribution to Teaching. This award recognises teachers and school administrators with an outstanding history of service.

Mr Ryschka and Mrs Sleeman will be honoured, alongside other award finalists, at an award ceremony on 25 October, the day before Queensland celebrates World Teachers’ Day. Our Academy extends our gratitude and appreciation to Mr Ryschka and Mrs Sleeman for their tireless service to the students, staff and community of QAHS.

Mrs Vanessa Rebgetz
Principal (Acting)